Twenty Two Years

By: thirdpearl

Aug 05 2012

Tags: ,

Category: Crafts, Etc

Leave a comment

These markers are at least twenty-two years old. My grandmother gave them to me and my brother – I estimate I was about six years old; I don’t remember exactly. But I do remember receiving them, the package they came in, and many scribbly and colourful afternoons. Last week I was visiting my brother, and after one ‘remember when’ conversation, he disappeared into a room and emerged with these, bundled in an elastic, joyfully saying “…they still work!”

And they do – just like new! Some of them have expired over the years, but of the original 26-or-so (that number I also don’t remember), these 19 still work. Amazing. Markers that have outlasted their parent company (Woolworth’s) and their country of origin (Czechoslovakia). Say it with me: “They just don’t make things like they used to…”

Leave a Reply

