Quilt #4: Little Bits

By: thirdpearl

Oct 03 2012

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Crafts, Etc, Quilts

2 Comments

Aperture:f/2
Focal Length:5.1mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/4 sec
Camera:DMC-LX5

Yup, that’s a 2” 9-patch that includes triangles. So TINY! So… TWINKLY!

I’m quite enamoured with tiny-pieced quilting after sewing these wee things. (there are more than just this one.) Not sure I want to do a whole quilt’s worth of tiny tiny bits, yet… or maybe I should start one and keep adding to it so by the time I’m 75 I’ll have a bed size compendium of my quilting history? (my grandmother has been chipping away at a log cabin made of 3” blocks [which are at least 4 layers deep] for longer than i recall. it just keeps getting bigger, bit by bit. she’s not finished yet, and it’s been at least 20 years.) Anyway, I’m very excited to border these wee blocks and lay them out with the rest, see how it looks, and find out how big it is. There are other wee blocks to make, but I need to see it spread out before I can determine which colours it needs more of. Like painting, or seasoning a stew. Or something like that. It needs space to breathe and become itself before it can communicate what it needs.

2 comments on “Quilt #4: Little Bits”

  1. I don’t know if you want to be working on some project at 75 that you started in 2012! lol

    • I think it would be entertaining – my “life’s work”, a fabric story of my creative life. and also a small textile history of the 21st century!


Leave a Reply

