Quilt #4 – Detail

By: thirdpearl

Jan 19 2013

Tags: , , ,

Category: Crafts, Quilts

4 Comments

Aperture:f/2
Focal Length:5.1mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/50 sec
Camera:DMC-LX5

The star quilt is coming along slowly. (still absolutely in love with it.) There isn’t much to see there, beyond detail shots of tricky tiny stars. The seam density around these wee things is challenging, and it’s sometimes frustrating to maintain stitch consistency. Oh well – a few long stitches aren’t an issue in a quilt this size, and as I’m keeping this one, the only person it matters to is me; and even then, it doesn’t matter.

A couple thoughts on stitching, upon returning to this project and others:

– Quilting in straight lines is easier than circles.

– I much prefer a #8 needle – the finish wears off long before the risk of breaking one, and the firmness:flexibility balance is ideal for my stitch length and the seam density of this quilt. I wore the finish off my last #8 quilting Coastal Winter, and all I had to get back into this one was a #12, which have impossibly tiny eyes and bend far too easily. Quilting with a bent needle is frustrating! (however, #12 are fantastic for whole-cloth, thin thread, and wool batting. superfine stitches. beautiful.)

– Wool batting is the best and easiest to hand quilt. Cotton blends are more dense and leave fuzzy bits everywhere. Bamboo was awful  – difficult and dense, high friction, constantly bearding (pulling through with stitches), fuzzy bits on *everything*. Wool is smooth as butter, way warmer, low friction, low density, no fuzzy bits. I broke so many needles with the cotton-blend and bamboo filled quilts; I have not yet broken one while quilting through wool. Perhaps that is due to more experience quilting and having acquired better needles, but I do think the force required to stitch through different batting substances contributes significantly.

– A good thimble is invaluable! A dear friend gave me a magnificent thimble – it’s made of soft silicon with a dimpled metal tip. Best thing ever. Comfortable, stays put. I have no idea where she got it, but if you ever see one, do try it out!

 

4 comments on “Quilt #4 – Detail”

  1. This is a – Quilt #4 Detail Pearl’s Fancy good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere. Simple but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing this one. A must read post!

  2. Man, I’ve been following your blog for a while now and I just was wondering how many quilts you average a year! Excellent work and I like your advice about the thimble. Did you hear that Monopoly is discontinuing the thimble? For Pete’s sake!

    • Not as many as you might think, and not as many as I’d like… It’s probably one a year on average, and that’s completed quilts. I hope to up that this year. So many ideas! (I don’t count the small ones in this, as they’re the size of placemats and more exercises than Actual Quilts.)

      What!? No more thimble?? I guess I’ll have to settle for the iron next time I play. LOL. Speaking of thimbles, the reason the silicon one is so magnificent is because the last one I had, just a cheap metal one, I quilted a hole right through it. The metal formed to my finger so I could only wear it one way, and the same dimple was used alllllll the time until the eye-end of the needle bored a hole right through. The silicon one wears evenly.


Leave a Reply

