Quilt #6: A Portrait

By: thirdpearl

Sep 28 2013

Tags: , , ,

Category: Quilts

4 Comments

Aperture:f/2
Focal Length:5.1mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/25 sec
Camera:DMC-LX5

Farm themed quilt, city window portrait.

The border will be black, the binding will be a very wild print with rainbow colours. This one has been fun, and though it seems so simple and bold, it had its fair share of challenges. Measuring, for one; or I suppose I should say, estimating. I winged this thing entirely, cutting pieces as I went. Most of the time that worked out, though towards the end I was having difficulties in that even if I added an inch to my measurements, things still came up short after pressing. I have no idea why. Shouldn’t piece when tired, I guess? The other challenge: the blue! I have a fair amount of blue in my stash, but most of it is not primary blue nor juvenile geometric print. You’d think that would be an easy thing to find, but it most definitely wasn’t. I think that was actually the most frustrating part of the whole project – not finding the right colour! (after three separate hunting trips, i did find a primary blue dot. if i ever see any in the wilds of quilt shops, i’m stocking up.)

The border goes on today and hopefully I’ll get to basting it as well. Soon I’m going on a road trip with my mother and grandmother – the other two challenge quilt participants – and this will be the perfect portable project to work on during the long days of driving. (No idea if they’ve started their projects (we have no timeline), but perhaps mine will be inspiration for theirs…?)

Aside: before starting this, I acquired a 1/4” foot for my sewing machine. WOW. Accuracy! Amazing!

4 comments on “Quilt #6: A Portrait”

  1. That is going to be lovely. Simple and stunning. I’m a big fan of bright colours. They make me smile.

    • it’s charming and definitely happy. i’m glad it makes you smile!

      and yeah, a 1/4” foot is fantaaaaastic! how did i quilt without one for so long? sheesh! 😀

  2. Oh, and the 1/4″ foot – amazing aren’t they!

  3. yippee for crafts!! what a great job!!! be sure to check out mine here: http://helloscarlettblog.com/2013/09/25/diy-antler-motif/.

    see you around!

    ~e~


Leave a Reply

