A Wee Adventure Break

By: thirdpearl

Oct 19 2013

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Etc

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:10.7mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:DMC-LX5

Pardon my absence, yet again… I was on an adventure to southern Utah with my mother and grandmother. Road trip. Grandma cycled in the Huntsman World Seniors’ Games, broke a record, won 4 gold medals, had her bike stolen… we camped, hiked, shopped, laughed, and generally had a grand old time together.

Utah has some interesting textures, so expect a collage in the next while. (i took a lot of close ups of the flora and rock. so many interesting cacti!)

The three of us adventurers are also all quilters, as I’ve mentioned before. My challenge quilt was basted in time for the trip and I took it along for quilting in the car. I didn’t have room to pack my 11” portable square frame, so I took the opportunity to experiment, quilting without a frame. I really like it! It’s much easier for outline and ditch quilting, no awkward maneuvering involved. I’m not sure how I might fare on my other project that has unguided straight lines, but it’s nice to know a frame is not necessary.

I’m mentally renewing my commitment to post more frequently, though the comfortable frequency of that is difficult to determine. There are so many things to share, but in life there are so many things to do! Learning and teaching and making and doing… and it all happening so rapidly. Now the weather has turned chilly, more crafting will happen and there will be more things to show-and-tell. (you might expect that my days are predominantly filled with crafting, from this blog’s contents… but in actuality more time is spent with music than sewing. it is an artfully busy life, however you look at it!)

Leave a Reply

